When you delete contacts from your Android phone, they are immediately deleted from your device and are no longer accessible.
Fortunately, you should still be able to access the deleted Contacts in your Gmail account that is connected to your Android phone, and they will stay on Google servers for 30 days before being permanently removed.
The ways to recover deleted contacts on an Android phone are listed below if you unintentionally deleted a contact or contacts.
Using Gmail, recover deleted contacts
- Log into the Gmail account connected to your Android phone using a computer.
- After logging in, select the Contacts icon from the drop-down menu by clicking the Menu icon in the top-right area of the screen.
- Click the More button and choose the Restore Contacts option from the drop-down menu if Deleted Contacts are present on the Contacts screen.
- Choose the Period from the list of possibilities on the pop-up before clicking the Restore button.
- You will notice a Google confirmation that all of your Contacts have been restored when the Deleted Contacts are Restored.
Android phones are configured to automatically sync Contacts to the associated Google Account. This effectively implies that your Gmail Account should contain all of the Contacts and Phone Numbers that you added to your Android phone.
Using the Google Contacts website
- On your computer, open the Google Contacts website and log in using your Google account.
- Go to the upper right corner and click the “Settings” icon.
- Select the restoration timeframe by clicking on ‘Undo Changes’.
- You have the option of choosing from “10 minutes,” “1 hour,” “Yesterday,” “1 week ago,” and “Custom.”
- To continue, select ‘Confirm’.